The Advanced view can seem daunting at first look, but it's really quite easy
once you get
of it. You can completely customize how your cookies are managed. Custom removal
selective removal of data is easy to configure once you understand how Cookie
look at how the Interface is layed out.
The first thing you will likely notice is the Play
and Pause buttons at the top of the window. These
are handy global
Disable buttons, used to quickly enable or disable ALL Cookie
removals. (which are configured on the Removal
options are also included as menu options in Cookie's menubar.
Directly below the Enable/Pause button is a status bar. You will find useful
current state of your browser cookies there.
Then to the left is the sidebar with all your installed browsers. Enabled
under the Browser heading, and Disabled browsers
under the Disabled heading.
Now, below the status bar is where you configure Cookie on the various tabs:
this is where you check favorite websites you want to KEEP
Unwanted Data tab
here you tell cookie what to remove.
Removal Options tab
here you tell cookie when to remove your previous
Timer Options tab
here you tell cookie what to remove when the timer
To the right of the tabs, you will find some useful buttons. First up is the View
enables you to quickly change to the Simple View. You most likely won't use this
- but is a
way to switch to the Simple view if you find the Advanced view too overwhelming.
Next to the
button,is a button to quickly access Preferences.
Now you know your way around Cookie, you need to customize how it runs, it's
easy, and is
- Select favorite websites to keep cookies for on the Websites
- Select removal data on the Unwanted Data tab.
- Choose removal schedules on the Removal Options
- Configure timer removal data on the Timer
On the Websites tab, you will see a list of all websites which store cookies in
all of your
browsers grouped together. You can filter the list by browser using the browser
further filter cookies by type, using the Show:
search bar allows to to filter by name
For each domain name in the list you will see a number in brackets - this
indicates how many
are related to that website. If you see a Red colored
this indicates how many of the cookies are tracking cookies. A Blue
indicates whitelisted cookies, and a Green
color indicates Browser
To view individual cookies, click the small triangle icon to expand
the website. Once expanded you can see exactly what types of cookie and any
have that are stored in the website. You will also see a number of icons to the
left of the
Below the domains, you will find some manual removal buttons, and some handy shortcut buttons:
A 3check in the Heart icon column
website is a Favorite.
A circle in the Bulls eye icon column
contains Tracking Cookies.
A circle in the Puzzle icon column
A circle in the Snow Flake icon column
contains Whitelisted Cookies.
3. If a dash is displayed instead of a check mark - this indicates
that not all
under the website are favorites! This is most commonly seen when ALL
selected in the browser sidebar. For example you may have the website
favorite in Safari, but not in Firefox.
Your 4CHECKED websites will never be removed automatically by
only by using the Remove button on the Websites
tab. You can
also only manually select a favorite if you already have a cookie on your
visiting the website.
4. If favorite is displayed without the triangle indicator, and is a
this indicates that the cookie is a favorite, but is NOT currently stored in the
These are cookies which have been identified as one's which may track your
conveniently RED colored for easy identification. You
customize how Cookie identifies tracking cookies in the Tracking
Cookie Editor. This is accessed by way of contextual
or by clicking the shortcut icon.
You very rarely want to remove browser extensions as they are needed by any
installed. Any adblockers or password managers etc... that you use in your
browser would see
unexpected results if you happened to
You very rarely need to whitelist a cookie, but it is a useful feature. In some
wrong, and flags a cookie as a Tracking cookie. This can cause sometimes login
is easily fixed by whitelisting any offending tracking cookies. You add
whitelist via the contextual menu.
you can by
in the Tracking
The shortcut icons are the group of icons at the bottom right of the Websites
tab. Clicking on any of the icons will reveal handy shortcuts.
The Unwanted Data tab is where you tell Cookie what it can remove. Cookie can not
unless you allow it first. You can select Unwanted data and apply it globally to
browsers, or if you prefer for each individual browser.
If a dash is displayed instead of a check mark for any settings
that not all browsers have this particular setting checked. This can occur, when
configure browsers individually, rather than globally.
these are any cookies which Cookie
cookie which tracks you.
any cookies which are UNCHECKED as
the cache stores files used by sites you
visit to help
browsing if you re-visit the site again at a later date. Images, style sheets
files are a
few things storeed in the cache.
your browser history.
the small icons which display in your
browser next to
website address in the url bar, and sometimes also on any browser tabs.
these are snapshots which browsers
of webpages you visit. Safari uses these in Tab expose.
any text you fill out on a webpage is
stored as a
everything you've chosen to download to
your browser. For example; app updates, torrent files, movies etc.
any website specific options.
autoplay settings, page zoom, microphone and camera access.
Other search engines
some browsers save custom
available) for each site you visit.
While tracking cookies, and non-favorites are removed per
types are not... For example you can not only remove history and cache for a
not others. It is all websites, or no websites. This is true for cache, history,
previews, form values, downloads, website preferences and Other search engines.
This tab is where you tell Cookie when you want the data you previously selected
again, all these options can be configured globally or on a per browser basis.
Cookie will remove your unwanted data from
you Quit Cookie.
On Browser Quit
browser data will be removed
whenever you quit
your enabled browsers. For example, if Unwanted data has been selected for
Quit, Firefox data only will be removed.
Every x minutes while Browser is Open
using ths option as it can cause issues on some websites. But some people may
Timers when set, will only run while an enabled browser is open and will run
other browser timers even if multiple browsers have timers set. Timers
configured independently to regular removal options.
When computer wakes from Sleep
Cookie will remove
from ALL browsers when you wake your computer.
As above, Cookie will remove your unwanted
browsers at Login (as long as you have configured Cookie to open
The Pause/Enable Automatic
important buttons. You can use them to quickly disable/enable ALL running timers
The Timer Options tab, is very similar in appearance to the Removal
Options tab. This may seem a little confusing at once. But Cookie is designed this way,
that you can completely customize your removal schedules.
For example, you may want to remove all data on browser quit, but remove only tracking cookies
15 minutes while your browser is running.
To correctly set a timer, you need to:
Timers can be configured globally across ALL browsers, or per browser. Also,
options you set on this tab, are ONLY fired if you have also chacked the option "Every X minutes
while Browser is open" on the Removal
Most users will never need to use this feature of Cookie, but it does has it's
you will see 2 tabs:
- Tracking Cookies
The Tracking cookies tab holds stores all of Cookie's tracking
definitions. You can edit this as you please, if you find Cookie's list
and restoration of defaults is possible from this tab.
On the Whitelist tab you will find any custom whitelist
definitions you may have created. You can manually add or remove as required.